Need help using 3rd party XSD

Topics: General Discussion Forum, Service Factory Modeling Edition Forum
Oct 28, 2009 at 11:25 AM

Hi I am fairly new to WSSF so please bear with me!  This is my scenario...

- I need to write a service which already has the contract defined in the form of a 3rd party XSD over which I have no control

I would expect this to be a fairly common thing to do so I am sure I am missing something obvious, but this is what's happening...

This is the bit of the XSD I have (I've cut it down and removed namespaces for simplicity):

<xs:schema>
  <xs:element name="TheRoot" type="TheRootType" />
  <xs:complexType name="TheRootType">
    <xs:sequence>
      <xs:element name="Value" type="xs:boolean"/>
    </xs:sequence>
  </xs:complexType>
</xs:schema>

So I've created my service contract model with an XSD Message.  When I hit the ellipses to browse and select the Element for the XSD message, I am able to select "TheRootType".  Note that "TheRoot" is not available to select.

So I validate, all OK, and generate the code.  All appears well.

Now, when I generate my actual WCF service it all seems happy.  However, when I browse to the WCF generated WSDL I noticed that the XSD it has generated is slightly different from the source used to create the service.  In particular I have this:

<xs:schema>
  <xs:element name="TheRootType" type="TheRootType" />
  <xs:complexType name="TheRootType">
    <xs:sequence>
      <xs:element name="Value" type="xs:boolean"/>
    </xs:sequence>
  </xs:complexType>
</xs:schema>

Note that the name of the root element has changed (as underlined).

If my service publishes this in it's WSDL it's exposing a different contract, which is incorrect.  So rather than use the on-the-fly generated WSDL I modified my service config file to reference a static WSDL file which referenced the correct 3rd party XSD (ie. the first xml snippet above).