WSSF Woes

Topics: General Discussion Forum
Jun 4, 2007 at 1:04 PM
I have a number of woes about WSSF (and SOA as a whole), and would really appreciate other peoples opinions.

It would also be useful if I summarised my situation:

I am a Windows based OO developer and use a lot of ORM and SRP techniques, and for a number of years now I've been using Rocky Lhotka's remote business object framework CSLA. With this framework I would normally create a set of business object libraries to include all validation, logic, data access, and such. Most of the power of this framework is that the objects can be remoted back and forth between the client and server allowing for validation, dirty data, and object state to be used efficiently without duplication of code. The remoting can be hosted in IIS, or if Web Services are required then this is trivial to implement. I see many benefits to this architecture and have created a number of large applications that have used CSLA that have been very successful.

In January I started a contract in a small team on a greenfield application. The team has come from a C++ background with little knowledge of .NET, software architecture, or design patterns. The application is a back office and will only be used internally to the company. I envisioned a nice tidy smart client application based on a good object library preferably using a framework such as CSLA and CAB, but the team were all keen to do a website to mimic a windows application despite a severe lack of ASP.NET experience. This is something I tried to dispute against but failed miserably. The team have also had a lot of involvement with Microsoft who had worked around SOA using WSSF, so the team embarked upon this architecture. I did question why you would need a web service architecture for an internal application, but what the lead developer and project manager interpret as "the Microsoft way" is the only way in their eyes. So this is how it all started.