Using Data Contacts Generated by LINQ to SQL

Topics: General Discussion Forum, Service Factory Modeling Edition Forum
Feb 29, 2008 at 9:09 PM
I'm thinking about using the Web Services Software Factory in an application where we're already generating data contracts from LINQ to SQL. Is it likely that I woudl be able to integrate these LINQ to SQL data contracts into a solution where I'm utilizing the WSSF? I've read that the WSSF:Modeling Edition supports roundtripping between the model and generated code, so I'm wondering if I could expect to work with and integrate these LINQ to SQL-generated data contracts into WSSF.

Sorry about the broad question, but I'm fairly new to this and any advice would be appreciated.

David Madrian
Mar 27, 2008 at 7:34 PM
I am wondering the same question.
Were you able to get any guidance on that?
Developer
Mar 27, 2008 at 8:11 PM
Ok, so let's clarify some concepts.
First WSSF:ME does not support round tripping so you basically can generated code only from the models but you cannot uypdate/create the models from existing or manually updated code.
So according to above, you may not use LINQ2SQL to generated DCs and then update the model.
Now, since WSSE:ME is pretty extensible, is does support adding a recipe where you can import code defined classes or whatever you want into a model. You may find how to do that in the Extensibility Hands-on labs that can be downloaded from the home page.
Aug 20, 2008 at 7:52 PM
We have been using WSSF:ME for some time and it is a great help. More recently, we have started exploring LINQ, and LINQ2SQL in particular.

It looks like LINK2SQL can save a significant amount of development time, so the incentive to use it is huge. However, it confuses me when I start thinking about using it within the WSSF:ME architecture.