XML Types in WSSF: ME Data Contracts

Topics: Service Factory Modeling Edition Forum
Feb 22, 2008 at 9:15 PM
Edited Feb 22, 2008 at 9:20 PM
As described in XML and ADO.NET Types in Data Contracts, WCF has several ways to include XML directly in a data contract. I have several existing web services that operate on XML passed as XmlElement or XmlDocument types, and operated upon using the same types. The schemas for these XML documents are complex, and use attributes extensively.

In converting these services to use WCF, I'd like to maintain the existing schemas, and much of the existing code. This means that I'll need to continue to operate upon XML.

Unfortunately, I don't see a way to do that in either the Data Contract Designer nor the Service Contract Designer. I'm new to WSSF, so, am I missing something?

The same question applies to DataSet, DataTable and others that implement IXmlSerializable.
Developer
Feb 25, 2008 at 10:41 AM
Did you try using XML Message elements (instead of Message) in your Service Contract models? That way you can point your messages to types defined in your schemas or existing WSDL files. These shapes are intended for contract-first scenarios where you can reuse your contract types defined in your shcemas.
Feb 25, 2008 at 12:06 PM

charlyfriend wrote:
Did you try using XML Message elements (instead of Message) in your Service Contract models? That way you can point your messages to types defined in your schemas or existing WSDL files. These shapes are intended for contract-first scenarios where you can reuse your contract types defined in your shcemas.