System.Runtime.Serialization.ExtensionDataObject

Topics: Service Factory Modeling Edition Forum
Feb 19, 2008 at 3:53 PM
hello,

I am using WS-SF v3 for the first time. I have been following Hand-on-lab for the service factory Modeling edition.
When i try to call the service from my client i get errors and upon debugging i figure out

public System.Runtime.Serialization.ExtensionDataObject ExtensionData
{
get
{
return this.extensionDataField;
}
set
{
this.extensionDataField = value;
}
}

>> ExtentionDataField is null and i end up with errors.

This is in proxy class. Its generated code and i have little knowledge about how to handle this error. I tried looking for a solution ended up here http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms733832(printer).aspx but i dont get most of the things in that article.

Can somebody point me in the right direction and tell me how to call the service code from the client application. Use hands-on-lab classes and details.

Hands on Lab a great resourse but can certainly become the greatest just by providing the last missing piece of how-to-call the service from the client application without a problem.

Thanks
Developer
Feb 19, 2008 at 4:43 PM
Can you specify which hands-on lab (Building or Entensibility) are you using and the Exercise number?
By your description, you are using the DataContractSerializer (WCF technology).
Feb 19, 2008 at 5:09 PM
Edited Feb 19, 2008 at 5:12 PM

I am using HOL for Building web-services. I am using the Modeling edition for service software factory.
- Yes - you are absolutely right i am using WCF technolgy and DataContractSerializer.
I am just following the HOL exercises and tried the WCF implementation but cant seem to make it work with the client.
I am using VS-2005 with the Modeling edition.
Developer
Feb 19, 2008 at 8:02 PM
You should not set any special value in this field (as you pointed in your reference, is used for versioning the DC).