I don't seem to have the menu options

Topics: General Discussion Forum, Service Factory Modeling Edition Forum
Nov 28, 2007 at 5:32 PM
I am very new to the web service software factory and can get it installed ok, or so i thought. However, when i go to start a new project, I do not have the same options as in the demos from the videos but i thought that was ok because maybe they were not using the 'modeling edition' but then they have things like "Unlock Solution" when they right click on the solution, and "Specify Project Responsibility" under "service Factory (WCF)" when right clicking on a service contract and i do not have those.

I am running under VS2005 Pro in XP Pro SP2

I installed the Toolkit and the extensions. I have the VS2005 SDK Feb 2007 installed as well.

Is this normal or is there something that is still missing from my setup.

The video that I refer to is the
"27 Mar 2007: Don creates some service interfaces with the WCF Service Factory. Interested in performing this demo yourself?"
video.

Please excuse me if I have forgot to mention something important as like I said before, I have not been working with this for very long.
Nov 28, 2007 at 6:07 PM
By your description, you've installed the December 2006 version (v2) of the WSSF.
I suggest you to download the latest version, the Modeling Edition from the launching page here http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb931187.aspx.
Nov 28, 2007 at 6:11 PM
The MSI that i installed from has a date of 10/31/2007 3.02 AM. This is the location that I originally got the files from.

The installer also says Modeling Edition. I have downloaded the zip from that link and compared it and it is the same file.
Nov 28, 2007 at 6:32 PM
It looks like you have WSSF v2 and v3 installed on your machine. If so, you should disable the WSSF v2 Guidance Package using the Guidance Package Manager.

Please let me know if this helped.
Nov 28, 2007 at 7:33 PM