Must Contract:Service Ratio be 1:1?

Nov 12, 2007 at 4:57 PM
I'm still very new to WSSF so sorry if this is another naive question.

It appears that in a Service Model, a Service can implement only one Service Contract, and a Service Contract can be implemented by only one Service. In other words, the relationship of Service Contract to Service must be 1:1. But in WCF the relationship is M:M: a Service can implement many Service Contracts, and a Service Contract can be implemented by many Services. Can I represent this M:M relationship with the Service Factory?

Suppose for instance I want a single Service to implement multiple Service Contracts. Can I model this arrangement in a Service Model? If not, can I at least cause it to generate code this way?

Thanks,

Sir Eel
Nov 12, 2007 at 5:12 PM
Edited Nov 12, 2007 at 5:28 PM
Don can provide more input here as to why we do this.

As an aside... This is a constraint in the ServiceReferencesServiceContract domain relationship on the DSL. To change this you would have to modify the DSL and then update the TT templates that generate from the DSL. This wouldn't be that hard but it would require recompilation of the factory.

Ade

Jan 14, 2008 at 11:01 AM
Hello.

Any updates how this can be done?

Keirol
Jan 15, 2008 at 4:52 PM
This is quite a pretty involved change, but if you feel in good shape to tackle this one, then here are the main steps you can follow as a head start:
Steps:
  1. Open, file: Service Contract DSL\Dsl\CustomCode\Connection\ConnectionBuilder.cs
  2. Comment lines, 99 and 100 (both Ifs)
  3. Open DslDefinition.dsl file on ServiceContractDsl project and edit "ServiceReferencesServiceContract" relation shape. Select "ServiceContracts" link on the left hand side and Set property "Multiplicity" to "1..*".
  4. Run "Transforms All Templates" from Solution Explorer toolbar.
  5. Build the project.